The Saratoga County EMS Council today announced recipients of the 2022 Saratoga County EMS Awards.  A ceremony was held September 14, 2023, at the Saratoga County Public Safety Building in Ballston Spa during a meeting of the Council.

Awards are given to emergency services personnel, affiliated with a New York State EMS Agency. Who show individual or team heroism above and beyond the ordinary call of duty.

EMS Communications Specialist of the Year: Awarded to Colin Campbell.  Colin Campbell began working as a Desk Officer in the Saratoga County Sheriff’s Department in June of 2013.  He has been responsible for dozens of cardiac arrest reversals resulting in no small part from his providing dispatcher assisted CPR.  Recently, Desk Officer Campbell took a call for a 3-month-old baby not breathing. He quickly determined that the baby was not effectively breathing and calmly and effectively walked the caller through CPR instructions. His caring and calming demeanor helped the caller stay calm and effectively provide CPR to the infant.  His dedication, responsibility, professional behavior, and special skills have saved countless lives.

Basic Life Support Provider of the Year: Awarded to Elisabeth Hildenbrandt.  Liz Hildenbrant has been an amazing asset to multiple Saratoga County EMS agencies.  She assists with QI efforts at Community Emergency Corps (Ballston Spa) and Waterford Rescue Squad where she also manages the agency Facebook page.  At Clifton Park & Halfmoon Emergency Corps, she teaches CPR and Safe Sitter courses.  Her interest in billing and reimbursement led her to become a Certified Ambulance Coder and she plans to use her skills to improve EMS reimbursement. Liz is the partner every one of us would want by our side. She has spent time advancing herself and her career opportunities, but unlike many others, it is with the hope of staying in EMS, not moving somewhere else.

Advanced Life Support Provider of the Year: Awarded to Erin Jarvis. Erin Jarvis is a Wilton Emergency Squad Paramedic, their Director of Patient Services, and a Field Training Officer.  She was the first paramedic in Upstate New York to gain certification as a Community Paramedic (CP-C) by the International Board of Specialty Certification (IBSC).  During the pandemic, Erin led the Public Health charge in her locality, vaccinating hundreds of homebound residents and multiple non-English speaking communities of farm workers in the Wilton EMS jurisdiction. Her exemplary service to her community, hard work in educating others, and every day “can do” attitude has transformed the mission and vision of her home EMS service and set an example for others.

Harriet C. Weber Leadership Award: Awarded to Nashua Alexander.  Nashua Alexander is the Chief Operating Officer of Wilton Emergency Squad, a State Fire Instructor, and a Specialty Care Transport Paramedic. He Chairs the Saratoga County EMS Council and frequently presents at Regional EMS Leadership conferences.  Nash has spearheaded an untold number of innovations, such as implementing pit crew CPR training long before the concept became well known, forming collaborative purchasing and education initiatives with neighboring EMS agencies, and introducing use of ultrasound on his ambulances. His talent for coaching and collaboration have fostered a culture in his home organization where longevity of employees is exceptional.  His organizational, motivational, and communication skills are second to none.

2023 Award Recipients

2023 EMS Award Recipients